
SHASTA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF RESOURCE MANAGEMENT 

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT 

GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING 

WHO IS ALLOWED TO BURN? 

Only residents of single- and two-family dwellings are permitted to burn dry vegetation from the yard.  Open burning for 

land-clearing projects, fire hazard reduction, agricultural burning, or prescribed burning is allowed with the required permits. 
 

WHAT IS ALLOWED TO BE BURNED? 

You may burn ONLY dried vegetation (NO GARBAGE, PAPER, OR CARDBOARD). The California Air Resources 

Board has adopted a state-wide prohibition on the use of burn barrels and the burning of paper and cardboard that 

became effective on January 1, 2004, except in the following census zip code areas:  Big Bend (96011), Castella (96017), 

Platina (96076), and Whiskeytown (96095).  Burning leaves or lawn clippings is not recommended.   The burning of any 

other material that might cause a public nuisance is also prohibited.  Air drying of green vegetation is required prior to 

burning and is based on the largest diameter of the branch or trunk being burned.  The minimum drying times for green 

vegetation prior to being burned are: 

        Diameter less than 6"    15 days drying time  Diameter 12" to 24"       45 days drying time 

        Diameter 6" to 12"        30 days drying time  Diameter 24" or more    60 days drying time 

                                   

DO YOU NEED A PERMIT? 

Open Burning Permits are required for burning inside the city limits and/or fire districts of Redding and Shasta Lake. 

Residential burn permits are not required in the Anderson Fire District and Cottonwood Fire District. CAL Fire Burn permits 

are required for County residents from May 1st until fire season is declared over. CAL Fire Burn Permits can be obtained 

online at: https://burnpermit.fire.ca.gov/ Permits may be obtained from the appropriate fire department (telephone numbers 

are listed at the end of this handout).  A fee may be required by some districts.  
 

If you are burning material associated with property being developed for commercial or residential purposes, or material 

associated with brush clearance for fire hazard reduction, you must have all material free of stumps and dirt and obtain a 

burn permit from the Shasta County Air Quality Management District (AQMD).  Burn permit fees must be paid to the 

AQMD in accordance with Rule 2:11; Fees, and an AQMD inspection may be conducted to verify the absence of stumps 

and dirt in any piles formed for burning.  Refer to attachment for applicable fees.  

        

If you are doing agricultural burning, you must obtain a burn permit and pay the applicable District burn permit fees to the 

AQMD.  Prescribed burning (Wildland Vegetation Management, Range Improvement, or Forest Management) greater than 

10 acres or that would produce more than 1 ton of particulate matter emissions, requires that a Smoke Management Plan be 

filed with the District in addition to payment of the burn permit fees to the AQMD.   Refer to attachment for applicable fees.   

     

WHEN ARE YOU ALLOWED TO BURN? 

Burning is allowed only on designated Burn Days which are so designated by CAL Fire and the California Air Resources 

Board, based on atmospheric temperatures, pressures, and wind conditions.  If sufficient dispersion is forecast, a day is 

designated "permissive burn."  When weather conditions are unfavorable, a "no burn" notice is issued. The recorded burn 

day information reflects the current days designation and is updated at 9:00 am daily. 

 

WHAT ABOUT FIRE SAFETY? 

CalFire, the U.S. Forest Service, and your local fire districts are concerned about your safety and the safety of your 

neighbors.  A day that is designated a “permissive” burn day on the basis of air quality may, in fact, be too windy or dry in 

terms of fire safety.  The daily burn day recording will reflect a “no burn” designation due to fire danger.  Please contact 

the appropriate organization listed at the bottom of this page for current fire-safety regulations. 

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  CLIP AND SAVE THIS SECTION . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 

Recorded burn day information can be obtained daily by calling:  
  

  Redding              (530) 224-8777 after 9:00 a.m. 

  Burney/Lakehead/Shingletown  (800) 411-8728 after 9:00 a.m. 
 

Or go to: www.shastacounty.gov/air-quality Click: the link to Burn Day Information. Only for weekday burn designations, 

after 9:00 a.m. 
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Burning hours are restricted in all areas not to exceed the following: 

 

WHEN  WHERE 

Fire may be ignited between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m.  Fire must 

be completely out by 5 p.m.    

 

Elevations below 1,000 feet. 

Fire may be ignited between 9 a.m. and 10 p.m. Fire must 

be completely out by 12 Midnight. 

Elevations above 1,000 feet. 

(Or as determined by fire authority.)  
 

Check with your local fire department (city, Cal Fire, and/or USFS).  If their times are more restrictive, you must adhere to 

them.  

          

WHAT IS THE PENALTY FOR NOT FOLLOWING THE OPEN BURNING GUIDELINES? 

The Mutual Settlement Policy Penalty Schedule (Revised 8/24/04) is as follows: 
 

Health & Safety Code Section 41700 

Causing a nuisance, endangering comfort,  

 health or safety, or causing damage  

 to business or property           $1,000  
 

Health & Safety Code Section 41701 

 Opacity violation of this section or any 

 District limitation                  $500 to $1,000 
 

AQMD Rules & Regulations 

 Failure to obtain open burning permit    $   500 

 Burning illegal material      $1,000 

 Violating a condition of your burning permit                $1,000 

           

Add $500 for additional violations, to a maximum penalty of $1,000. 
 

An open burning violation that occurs when burning is prohibited is considered as a failure to obtain an open burning permit. 
 

CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE MAXIMUM LIABILITY FOR VIOLATIONS 

The Mutual Settlement Policy shown above allows for the settlement of violations through payment of a penalty amount 

and agreeing to other conditions without going to court. Once a violation is referred to the courts, the maximum liability for 

that violation could be substantially more than the settlement penalty amount. A violation of the District Rules and 

Regulations and the California Health and Safety Code (CH&SC) sections may be prosecuted either as a civil or criminal 

violation. The maximum penalty for a procedural violation (CH&SC Sections 42400 and 42402) is $1,000 and/or six months 

in the county jail. Burning without a permit is a procedural violation. The maximum penalty for a violation involving 

emissions of air contaminants (CH&SC Sections 42400.3 and 42402.3) is $75,000 and/or one year in the county jail. Burning 

illegal or toxic material is a violation of these sections.  
 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  CLIP AND SAVE THIS SECTION . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
WHO SHOULD YOU CONTACT FOR MORE INFORMATION? 

  Anderson Fire Protection District   378-6699 

  CAL Fire     225-2418 https://burnpermit.fire.ca.gov/ 
  Cottonwood Fire Department   347-4737 

  Redding Fire Department   225-4141 https://www.cityofredding.org 

  Shasta County Air Quality Management District 225-5674 www.shastacounty.gov/air-quality 

  Shasta Lake Fire Protection District  275-7474  

Direct questions or complaints to the Shasta County Air Quality Management District 530-225-5674 or 1-800-528-2850.                               
Revised 10/25/24
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ATTACHMENT TO GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING  

 

Rule 2:11; Fees: (Burn Permit Section Only)  

b. Air Quality Management Burning Permits 

 

  1. To ensure compliance with all applicable Air Quality Management District (AQMD) burning 

regulations, the holder of, or applicant for, any open burning permit shall pay the required Basin 

Control Council Fee, as well as any applicable Burn Permit and/or Acreage Fee as outlined below: 

 

   The following schedule outlines the current charges for District open burning permits: 

 

   a. Agricultural Burning (for the growing of crops or raising of fowls or animals): 

                                                1)     Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)                                                 $  5 

                                                2)    Agricultural Burn Permit                                                                       $ 30 

                                                3)    Acreage Fee (Field Crop)  $0.50/acre 

                                                4)    Acreage Fee (Ag Waste/Other)                       $0.50/acre 

 

b. Prescribed Burning (for Forest Management, Rangeland Improvement, and Wildland 

Vegetation Management Burning) 

   1)    Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866) $  5 

                                                2)    Agricultural Burn Permit                                     $ 30 

                                                3)    Acreage Fee (Forest Management)                             $0.50/acre 

                                                4)    Acreage Fee  (Rangeland Improvement)         $0.50/acre 

                                                5)    Acreage Fee (Wildland Vegetation Management)  $0.50/acre  

 

   c. Land Clearing Burning (for commercial or residential development) 

1)    Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866) $  5 

2)    Land Clearing Burn Permit $ 30 
 

   d. Fire Hazard Reduction Burning (for brush clearance) 

1)    Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866) $  5 

2)    Fire Hazard Burn Permit (10 acres or less) $10   

3)    Fire Hazard Burn Permit (More than 10 acres)  $ 30 
 

e. Mechanized Burner Use (Mechanized Burners shall obtain permits as stated in Rules 

2:1A, 2:6, and 2:11) 

1)    Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866) $  5  
                                                 2)    Mechanized Burner Burn Permit                                                          $ 30 

    (Amended 4-10-90 and 7-17-01) 

  
f. Residential Burning 

 

No fee is required for residential burning that is conducted in accordance with District 

Rules 2:6 and 2:7, provided that the burning project is not associated with property being 

developed for commercial or residential purposes or fire hazard reduction.  

(Added 7-17-01) 

 

 
Revised 10/25/24 

 


